National Museum Wales

National Museum Wales (Welsh: Amgueddfa Cymru), formerly the National Museums and Galleries of Wales, comprises eight museums in Wales:

- National Museum Cardiff

- St Fagans: National History Museum

- Big Pit National Coal Museum

- National Wool Museum

- National Slate Museum

- National Roman Legion Museum

- National Waterfront Museum

- National Collections Centre


In addition to these sites, National Museum Wales runs Oriel y Parc, a gallery of Welsh landscape art in St David's, with the Pembrokeshire Coast National Park Authority.


There is an online supplement to the physical institutions called Rhagor (Welsh: more) which contains information on items in the museum collection and images of further items which are not on display.

Text source:
Photo source:

Other venues

Exhibitions and events

Algal Blooms - when plants turn nasty!

Permanent exhibition

Come and find out how simple plants such as algae can kill. This display tells you about what causes an algal bloom and how we can help prevent them. This is when algae or bacteria living in the sea...

Educational programs

We don't have anything to show you here.


We don't have anything to show you here.

Suggested Content